Vedran Mehinovic

Vedran Mehinovic


Virtual Breakout During the Outbreak June 6th Livestream

Supercluster [excerpt] 
This excerpt is part of a three-hour piece.

Proposed work as accepted for soundpedro 2020:
Supercluster” is a three-hour ambient composition, developed through spectral manipulation of eight audio sources, ranging from Machaut (14th century French composer) to Björk. The work opens with the second movement of Schubert’s “Trout” quintet, which over the next five minutes gradually becomes more dreamlike, giving way to an even more hazy “In a Landscape” (John Cage). The listener travels through areas of varying activity, density, and luminosity, akin to a galactic supercluster.

Return to Artists 2020 page

Vedran Mehinovic was born in Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina. He received bachelor’s and master’s degrees in Composition from New England Conservatory, and a doctorate from UC Santa Cruz. In 2007, his piece RA was selected as one of just three orchestral works to be performed during the Gaudeamus Music Week in Amsterdam, and had won an Honorable Mention at the week’s end. An enthusiast of world arts, Mehinovic has organized concerts of Korean, Hindustani, Uyghur, and Chinese music. His works have been performed in Bosnia, Croatia, Switzerland, France, Portugal, Spain, the Netherlands, Japan, Korea, and the United States.

Artist Location: New Haven, CT

Social Media:

Posted in Artists 2020.