On-site Event 2024

Saturday, June 1, 2024, 7-10 PM
FREE, On-site at Angels Gate Cultural Center

3601 South Gaffey Street, San Pedro, California 90731.

soundpedro2024 CHARIVARI

The one night On-site event includes: sculptures, environments, installations, timed and ongoing performances, interactions, and presentations are placed throughout the Angels Gate Cultural Center site (*AGCC has 7 acres of outdoor space).
soundpedro is not a music event.

*Note: Be prepared for rough terrain, sun and wind exposure, and temperature changes (e.g. jackets, umbrellas, blankets, practical footwear, etc.)

This year’s theme, Charivari (Latin: caribaria – “mess,” “pandemonium,” “commotion,” et al.), has a rich history, including “absurd portraits,” “a loud, unmelodious cacophony” sometimes used to make a statement or protest (think clanging pots and pans), a potpourri or bringing together of unrelated elements, and even a Bavarian belt chain adorned with amulets.

Read the Random Lengths News article, “soundpedro2024 surveys past/present/future on 20th anniversary of inaugural SoundWalk” by Greggory Moore.

Learn more about all of the soundpedro2024 Artists HERE.

Participating Artists

soundplay <=> southbay Gallery Show

Upstairs Building A
Betsy Lohrer HallEric StraussFrancene KaplanGary Raymond Jeremy Davidson & Sheri Ki Sun (FLOOD)Kamran Assadi (FLOOD) MLuMphog masheeen

Downstairs Building A
Jacob Wolff, Julian Prins, and James McBride Michael A. Mersereau & Marcuccio de Andreis (with Victoria Bryan, Cynthia Snyder, Anna Valdespina Caplan)Ritualss (MeLisa Moore, Elliot Adams, Jules X. Grace and others)SoundWalk 2011 Artist Interviews (video)

More information on soundplay <=> southbay HERE

Performances & Installations
//sense3TONcinemaAbacusAshton Phillips Beth ElliottBrandon BollingerByungkyu LeeCarlos AmayaConscious Summary David Javelosa with Judith KepesDenniswithyDylan RicardsEden KnutillaElizabeth FloodEric LennartsonEthan MarksFamily Style VehicleGeorge SarahgrumpHarold Greene Henry KrusoeInsufficient DespairJ3M5Jackson GoodeKenny Zhao and Young TsengLauren WatmoreLost TransmissionLowell Nickel LowendMartin EspinoMathilda’s Universe w Jason Cornwell Mélissa Lavabre & Eric BastaMiserNeil Young aka Neil ‘Cloaca’ Young / Bromp TrebPablo Perez (with Marc Perez, Nicki Chen, Skyler King, SpaceRacer, Wild Wild Mike)Phoebe Barnum & Turdmeister phog masheeenSam AnthemSophia Wolfe StudioSophie FansoundShoppeStar Garden Susan Rawcliffe SynthLab (Álvaro Cáceres, univac, Putney Swope, Qrux, Dub Station Zero, Faraday Cage, OSC1Nation, Cannibalistic Caterpillar)Temporal EmissionsTerry Braunstein & Marcuccio de Andreis The Artist Monte Thrasher The Division of LaborThe JohnsonsThomas MileyViktor Rosas, Camilo Otero, Nguyen LyYadira Dockstader • and more…

soundscapes [audio tracks]
Akari Komura Alvaro Diaz- RodriguezArlo Tomeček + Grace DashnawCamille NibungcoChad EbyCostantino Rizzuti D A AyerG Douglas BarrettGalo DuránGrace ShannonJulia Edith RigbyMélissa LavabreRocío ColoniztRyan Spratt steve ashbySYLVI macCORMACVedran Mehinovic vvounds

earmaginations [silent videos]
Carlos Eduardo GacharnáEric BastaJody ZellenJohanna HauserJulia Edith RigbyMélissa LavabreSam Anthem

More info on soundscapes and earmaginations HERE

On-site Timed Events

Please allow 5 minute leeway for listed times.

Starts at 7:00 PM
PERFORMANCES (Building A Downstairs)

7:00 – 8:30 PM
Handler/Builder no.1 (Process Performance)
Jacob Wolff, Julian Prins, and James McBride

8:45 – 9:15 PM
Ritual Object (Performance)
Ritualss (MeLisa Moore, Elliot Adams, Jules X. Grace and others)

Swastikasualty (Performance)
Michael A. Mersereau & Marcuccio de Andreis (with Victoria Bryan, Cynthia Snyder, Anna Valdespina Caplan)

Starts at 7:10 PM

7:10 PM Álvaro Cáceres Muñoz
7:30 PM univac
7:50 PM Putney Swope
8:10 PM Qrux
8:30 PM Dub Station Zero
8:50 PM Faraday Cage
9:10 PM OSC1Nation
9:30 PM Cannibalistic Caterpillar

Starts at 7:00 PM

soundscapes [audio tracks]*
Program 1

7:00 PM Alvaro Diaz- Rodriguez
7:01 PM Camille Nibungco
7:02 PM Ryan Spratt
7:05 PM D A Ayer
7:08 PM Mélissa Lavabre
7:11 PM G Douglas Barrett
7:17 PM Alvaro Diaz- Rodriguez
7:23 PM vvounds
8:05 PM Vedran Mehinovic
9:19 PM End

Program 2
7:00 PM Chad Eby
7:03 PM Ryan Spratt
7:06 PM Costantino Rizzuti
7:09 PM Rocío Colonizt
7:13 PM Akari Komura
7:18 PM Grace Shannon
7:25 PM Galo Durán
7:33 PM Arlo Tomeček + Grace Dashnaw
7:47 PM steve ashby
8:27 PM Mélissa Lavabre
9:25 PM End

earmaginations [silent videos]*
8:30 PM Sam Anthem
8:31 PM Johanna Hauser
8:34 PM Eric Basta
8:37 PM Mélissa Lavabre
8:40 PM Jody Zellen
8:47 PM Carlos Eduardo Gacharná
8:54 PM Julia Edith Rigby
9:25 PM End

All times are rounded to nearest minute. Programs loop, running until 10 PM.

*Online video presentations of the SOUNDSCAPES & EARMAGINATIONS programs will be available on the soundpedro website starting June 9, 2024.